AFCON 2019: Latest Africa Cup of Nations News For Friday, June 14th, 2019 | Nigeria News
Connect with us


AFCON 2019: Latest Africa Cup of Nations News For Friday, June 14th, 2019



This is Naija News compilation of the latest Africa Cup Of Nations (AFCON) news online for today, Friday, June 14th, 2019.

Host Egypt Reveals Killer Squad For 2019 Afcon

The Pharaohs of Egypt have released a killer squad as they prepare to host the 2019 Afcon.

The Pharaohs became the host nation of the 2019 AFCON tournament after Cameroon were stripped of their right to host after failing to conclude preparations for the tournament.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawy (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shennawy (Al Ahly), Mahmoud Gennesh (Zamalek)

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Baher El-Mohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Mahmoud Alaa, Mahmoud Hamdy El-Wensh (Zamalek), Ahmed Ayman Mansour, Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ayman Ashraf (Al Ahly)

Midfielders: Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Ali Ghazal (C.D. Feirense), Nabil Emad Dunga, Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Walid Soliman (Al Ahly), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Mahmoud Hassan Trezeguet (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos)

Strikers: Ahmed Ali (Arab Contractors), Marwan Mohsen (Al Ahly), Ahmed Hassan Kouka (Olympiacos)

Angola Names Final Squad For 2019 Afcon

Angola has revealed their final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Toni Cabaça (1st of August), Landu (Interclube of Luanda) and Ndulu (Sport of Huíla).

Defenders: Isaac (1st in August), Dani Massunguna (1st of August), Paizo (1st of August), Edy Afonso (Petro de Luanda), Wilson (Petro de Luanda), Bastos (Lazio, Italy), Jonathan Buatu Portugal) and Bruno Gaspar (Sporting, Portugal)

Midfielder: Herenilson (Petro de Luanda), Show (1st of August), Macaia (1st of August), Stélvio Cruz (F91 Dudelange, Luxembourg), Djalma Campos (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Freddy (Antalyaspor, Turkey ) and Geraldo (Al Ahly, Egypt).

Forward: Mabululo (1st of August), Mateus Galiano (Boavista, Portugal), Wilson Eduardo (Sporting of Braga, Portugal), Gelson Dala (Rio Ave, Portugal) and Evandro Brandão (Leixões, Portugal).

Kenya Reveals Squad Numbers For Afcon 2019

The Harambee Stars of Kenya have released squad numbers for Afcon 2019 with Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama wearing number 12.

See Numbers below

Goalkeepers: 18. Patrick Matasi, 1. Faruk Shikalo, 23. John Oyemba.

Defenders; 20. Philemon Otieno, 5. Musa Mohamed, 3. Abud Omar, 13. Eric Ouma, 4. Joash Onyango, 15. David Owino, 6. Bernard Ochieng.

Midfielders: 21. Dennis Odhiambo, 17. Ismael Gonzalez, 10. Eric Johanna, 12. Victor Wanyama, 2. Joseph Okumu, 19. Ovella Ochieng, 11. Francis Kahata, 7. Ayub Timbe, Johanna Omollo, 16. Paul Were.

Forwards: 9. John Avire, 14. Michael Olunga, 22. Masud Juma.

More Afcon News can be found on the Naija News website.

Download Naija News App.   Advertise with us.   Send us enquiries and press releases.

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.