Connect with us

Nigeria News

‘When Did They Disappear?’– Falana Blasts Navy Over ‘Escape’ Of 15 Detainees




Fuel Subsidy: Falana Reacts As NLC Plans To Embark On Nationwide Strike

Human rights lawyer,  Femi Falana has challenged the Nigerian Navy over claims that it knows nothing about the whereabouts of 15 citizens who have been detained for seven months without trial.

Recall that Suleman Dahun, Navy’s director of information, had alleged on Monday that the detainees escaped from detention.

PUNCH had quoted him saying “We don’t know where they are,”

The detainees, including Dada Labinjo, a navy captain, and Sherifat Ibe Lambert (also known as Mrs Bola Labinjo), a Lt. Commander has been in detention since September 2018 for an undisclosed offence.

Yesterday, Falana asked why the navy would deny their whereabouts and yet apply to the court to continue to detain them.

My attention has been drawn to the sadistic denial of the whereabouts of the 15 military and civilian personnel who have been held incommunicado by the Nigerian Navy since September 2018,” Falana said.

“As their whereabouts are unknown why did the navy apply to the chief magistrate’s court in Apapa, Lagos for an order to detain them? Why did the navy not deny the whereabouts of the detainees when the magistrate ordered their immediate and unconditional release from custody on January 7, 2019? Since the whereabouts of the detainees are not known, why did the navy file counter-affidavits in opposition to the application for the release of Captain Dada Labinjo and Lt. Commander Bola Labinjo from further detention?

“Why has the navy filed a motion for stay of execution of the order of the federal high court for the immediate release of Lt. Commander Bola Banjo? Why did the Navy apply for an adjournment to react to the application for the enforcement of the fundamental right of Mr. Benjamin Gold? For goodness sake, at what stage did the detainees disappear from the custody of the Navy?”

The senior lawyer also shared copies of the court documents ordering the release of the detainees.

Below is a list of all the detainees:

Adeline Jumbo
Dada Labinjo
Sherifat Lambert
Benjamin Gold
Segun Yusuf
Hamza Yakubu
Iejoro Friday
Innocent Sunday
Emmanuel Oputa
Ogunmoyero Oluwashewun
Labinjo Kehinde
Adeleke Adewale
Onoja Reube
Pius Paul
Peter Pulle