Connect with us


APC Withdraws Support For Tinubu’s NASS Leadership Candidates



This period may not be the best of times for the All Progressive Congress (APC) leader and founder, Bola Tinubu and his political dynasty.

This is as groups within the APC led by politicians from northern extraction appear to have torpedoed Bola Tinubu’s influence under the watchful supervision of the President, Muhammadu Buhari.

According to 247ureports, sources close to the presidency indicates the groups have enveloped the current leadership tussle at the two chambers of the National Assembly – to the extent the candidates presented by the Tinubu political block have been label unacceptable by the group.

The group consisting of the Governor of Kaduna State, Nasiru El Rufai, Minister of Power/Work/Housing, Babatunde Fashola, Governor of Ekiti State, Kayode Fayemi, Governor of Ondo, Rotimi Akeredolu and the entire APC Governors of the North East and North West geopolitical regions including other silent APC chieftains are reported to be firmly against the continued influence of the Tinubu led dynasty in the new national assembly.

Our source points to the candidateship of Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan who represents Yobe North Constituency of Yobe State vying to become the Senate president. “He is Tinubu/Oshiomole candidate”, so is also Femi Gbajabiamila who represents Surulere federal constituency in Lagos State. “They are both Tinubu/Oshiomole candidates”.

The El Rufai led group – with the President’s blessing – have reshuffled the deck of cards against the choices presented by Tinubu.

The group have decided to not go with Femi Gbajabiamila and Ahmed Lawan.

Our source is not certain as to the persons the group have decided to go with but what is certain is the Tinubu choices have been discarded with.

With the new mix, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) appear to gain more controlling influence over the final outcome. Presently, the APC has 62 Senators against the PDP that has 37 senators.

In the House of representative, APC has 211 while PDP 111. The new faction which has divided the support base and voting strength of the APC in both chambers of the House has, as a result, caused the PDP to have the votes to decide who wins.

Our source points to the current Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu as possibly retaining the seat.

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.