Connect with us


Fayemi Swears In New Commissioners, Others (See Full List)



Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State on Tuesday swore in 14 new Commissioners and five advisers.

The former Minister of Solid Minerals and Steel warned that they will be sacked if found displaying ineptitude and engaging in corrupt practices.

The swearing-in came after the names of the commissioners-designate were approved by the House of Assembly.

Fayemi urged the new commissioners and advisers to be prudent in the management of limited resources considering lean resources available to the state.

Fayemi added the inauguration marked the commencement of a full-fledged state executive council since he assumed office in 2018.

“You all knew the state of our state before I was inaugurated and you could attest to the fact that we have raised the bar and change the landscape for better now within these few months,” he said.

“Commissioners and advisers are the creation of the constitution. Those appointed today emerged through wide consultation. I want to tell you that you were chosen because people believed in you.

“You must try and represent your people well. In coming up with this list, we ensured that each council gets one commissioner each.

“Make sure you make yourselves accessible. This is a government of restoration and you must key into our 4 -cardinal objective of this government in your respective ministries.

“Penalties are there if you don’t live up to expectations. This is an opportunity to write your names in gold for being part of the restoration team.

“Don’t share the exaggerative view that government is an avenue to amass wealth.

“For those who know how to grumble, we won’t hesitate to ask for your resignation if you are not contented with the meagre resources accruing to you,” he said.

The new commissioners are: Dr Adio Afolayan (Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs); Dr (Mrs.) Moji Yaya Kolade (Health and Human Services); Chief (Mrs.) Moji Fafure (Women Affairs); Mr Emmanuel Foluso Daramola (Education, Science and Technology); Mr Folorunso Olabode (Agriculture and Rural Development); Engr. Bamidele Faparusi (Infrastructure and Public Utilities) and Mr Gbenga Agbeyo (Environment).

Others include; Mr Olusoga Davies (Trade and Investment); Mr Sola Adebayo (Works and Transport); Mr Michael Awopetu (Youths and Sports); Mr Muyiwa Olumilua (Information and Orientation); Mr Femi Ajayi (Budget and Planning); Alhaji Ayodele Jinadu (Regions Development and Special Duties) and Mr Febisola Adewale (Lands and Housing).

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.