Connect with us



INEC Announces PDP Candidate As Winner Of Senatorial Election In Imo State



INEC gives update on 2019 elections

Alagbaso Is Declared Winner Of Senatorial Elections

Ten days after the Senatorial elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Jerry Alagbaso winner of the House of Representatives election held in Orsu/Orsu/Oru East federal constituency of Imo State.

The Returning Officer, Professor Innocent Madufor, who announced the result in Owerri, the state capital early today, said that Alagbaso of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled a total of 21, 273 votes to emerge the winner of the election.

Naija News reports that the recently conducted February 23 elections were marred with allegations of violence and snatching of ballot boxes among others in some locations.

Alagbaso, who is returning to the House of representatives for the third time was first elected in 2011.

Meanwhile recall that the All Progressive Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) had suspended the state governor, Rochas Okorocha from the party over anti-party activities.

Source: Naija News

is an opinionated and creative writer, and teacher. You can reach me via [email protected]