Sowore Supporters Protests Outside VP Debate Venue, Demands His Inclusion | Naija News
Connect with us



Sowore Supporters Protests Outside VP Debate Venue, Demands His Inclusion



Why Buhari Govt Is Afraid Of Sowore - Agba Jalingo

Supporters of one of the presidential candidates excluded from the vice presidential debate holding this night in Abuja are currently protesting outside the venue of the event.

The group, led by Jude Eya, are protesting over the exclusion of Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress (AAC).

The Nigerian Elections Debate Group (NEDG) and the Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria (BON) selected five political parties to participate in the presidential debate, excluding over 70 others in the race.

Naija News recalls that sowore had earlier slammed the national Chairman of Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria for his exclusion from the scheduled Presidential   debate and  vice presidential debate stating


The presidential debate will hold on January 19, 2019 while the vice-presidential debate has commenced at Transcorp Hilton, Abuja. Among the prominent candidates excluded from the debate are Jerry Gana of the Social Democratic Party; Tope Fasua of the Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP) and Mr Sowore.

“Solidarity Forever… “, Mr Sowore’s supporters kept singing outside the west door entrance of the conference in Transcorp Hilton where the debate is holding.

Mr Iya who led the group said the exclusion of Mr Sowore was an infringement on his right as a candidate.

“We demand to know on what criteria our candidate Mr Sowore was excluded from this debate. In the online poll conducted, he came third in the most popular of all the candidates. We demand that he be allowed to join the debate,” he said.

However Sowore has  also slammed other top Presidential Candidates who failed to question the organizers for excluding him.he stated that

Those participating in tonight’s debate are vice presidential candidates of Allied Congres Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Ganiyu Galadima; Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), Kahdijah Abdullahi-Iya; All Progressives Congress (APC), Yemi Osinbajo; Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peter Obi and Young Progressives Party (YPP) Umma Getso.

Source: Naija News

A Passionate Media professional who has a penchant for creative writing. he loves watching Movies, Playing Games and sightseeing.