Connect with us


2019: Ezekwesili Speaks On Debates Organised For Presidential Candidates And Their Vice



Backing Pantami Shows Buhari's Stance On Terrorism - Ezekwesili

The Presidential candidate of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria, Oby Ezekwesili, has stated that she would like to meet with five other influential presidential candidates on the platform of the national debate organised by the Nigerian Election Debate Group.

The five candidates stated by Ezekwesili include the likes of Donald Duke of Social Democratic Party, Omoyele Sowore of African Action Congress, AAC; Byron Fagbemj of KOWA Party; and, John Gbor of All Progressives Grand Alliance.

She stated this on Thursday in a statement that was shared via her Twitter Account.

She said: “As a country with huge contingent of Parties fielding candidates for election, it does make sense to at least allow more than 5 such parties, at least 25 percent of those candidates, to participate in the most influential of Presidential Debates.

“I especially want to see a candidate like Omoyele Sowore whose AAC has been diligent in crisscrossing Universities to awaken our young to engage in our Politics.

“I also believe that candidates of APGA, KOWA Party & SDP should be part of an additional list of 5 candidates for the Presidential Debate of BON/NEDG, considering their assiduous efforts to galvanize a base of citizens to get involved in these crucial polls.

“I hope earnestly that this will be considered by the organizers.”

Recall that Naija News reported that the Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria named five political parties to participate in 2019 vice presidential and presidential debates.

According to a statement signed by the Executive Secretary of the NEDG, Eddi Emesiri, the parties are Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Young Progressives Party (YPP).

This meant that the presidential aspirants expected at the debate are President Muhammadu Buhari, Atiku Abubakar, Oby Ezekwesili, Fela Durotoye and Kingsley Moghalu.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android