Connect with us


PDP Primary: Vote For A Candidate Nigerians Can Trust – Afenifere Tells PDP


The Yoruba socio-political organisation, Afenifere, has, on Saturday, outlined qualities the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, should take note of before electing their Presidential candidate.

Yinka Odumakin, Spokesperson of Afenifere, adviced PDP to go for a candidate that would be trust by Nigerians, one that has the desire and capacity to restructure the country.

Odumakin made this known in an interview with DAILY POST on Saturday while trying to outline the qualities of the PDP candidate that has the better chance of defeating the incumbent, President Muhammadu Buhari come 2019.

According to Odumakin, “Looking at it, PDP is parading about 13 aspirants and at the end of the day, only one will emerge and from the look of things they have some very formidable names, I mean Atiku is a very strong candidate, Saraki, Kwankwaso are all strong candidates.

“I don’t think that there is short supply of good material but I wish delegates pick the best of the best who can carry out this assignment of taking over Nigeria and putting us on the right path, who can restructure the country to true federalism; a President with a very wide mind and is well connected and can be trusted among Nigerians.

“We need a president who is not parochial, not looking at his corner of the country, a President that can bring everybody on board and run an inclusive government, who can give Nigeria a fresh start and put the country on the path of productivity, and that is the kind of person the delegates should pick today.

“They should give a candidate with these characteristics so that he can take Nigeria away from the current ruinous path that we are in and put it on a fresh path.”

Meanwhile, PDP National Convention, which is presently holding in Rivers State capital, Port Harcourt, will produce a candidate that will fly the party flag during the presidential election next years.

Get New DJ Mixes

These aspirants include former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, Senator from Kano, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, former Kaduna State Governor, Ahmed Makarfi, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki among others.