Prof. Umara-Zulum wins APC primaries in Borno state | Nigeria News
Connect with us


Prof. Umara-Zulum wins APC primaries in Borno state


Prof. Babagana Umara-Zulum has emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Borno.

Declaring the result of the election, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Ahmed El-Marzuq, disclosed that Umara-Zulum scored 4, 432 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Alhaji Idris Durkwa, who polled 114 votes.

‪Marzuq revealed that Alhaji Gambo Lawan scored two votes, while Alhaji Mustapha Baba Shehuri; ‪Ambassador Baba Jidda and Maigira Atom got one vote each.

He explained that about 317 votes were declared invalid, adding that 5,012 delegates participated in the election.

A total of 21 aspirants were cleared by the party for the governorship primary election in the state.

Ten of the 21 candidates withdrew from the race and threw their support behind Zulum, while four others abstained from the election.

Among those that withdrew from the race were Kaka Shehu; Sen. Baba-Kaka Bashir Garbai, Sen. Habu Kyari, Mohammed Makintami and Adamu Dibal.

Others were Adamu Zaufanjinba; Alhaji Mai Sheriff, Babagana Tijjani Banki, Mohammed Liman and Mustapha Fannarambe.

Those who abstained the election were Mutawwalli Kashim Imam; Mustapha Baba-Shehuri, Amb. Baba Ahmed Jidda and Abba Jato.

Download Naija News App.   Advertise with us.   Send us enquiries and press releases.