Connect with us

Nigeria News

I Will Remain In PDP If I Lost Its Presidential Ticket – Bafarawa




Bafarawa slams APC over conduct of its congress and primaries

Alhaji Attahiru Bafarawa, a Former governor of Sokoto State, and presidential aspirant on the Platform of the people Democratic Party (PDP) has assured that he would remain in the party even if he loses the presidential primary of the party.

I will remain in the PDP even I do not emerge its presidential flag bearer; as a democrat, I allow the people’s will to prevail. In every race, there is always a winner and loser,” Bafarawa said on Monday in Minna.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Bafarawa spoke at a meeting with the Niger State delegates of the party ahead of the PDP national convention slated for Oct. 5-6.

“I am a democrat that believes in playing according to the rules of the game. I am not a desperate politician.

“There are people that joined the party to become State Governors or President. That, to me, is selfish.

“The interest of Nigeria and the PDP must come first. My personal ambition is last. Whether I succeed as PDP presidential aspirant or not, I will remain in the party and support the winner to ensure success,” he said.

Bafarawa admonished the the members of the PDP to form a united front that would be formidable enough to dislodge APC of the power come 2019.

Bafarawa cautioned Nigerians seeking political offices against seeing such bids as “a matter of life and death”, saying that making Nigeria a better nation should be the principal concern.

The former government, while promising to implement people centered programmes for Nigerians admonished delegates in the party to vote for him during the coming national convention.

Responding, Mr Tanko Beji, PDP chairman in the state, said that there were 202 delegates from Niger, and promised to consider aspirants based on their individual merit.

Other PDP members seeking its presidential ticket are former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, former Kaduna and Kano governors, Ahmed Makarfi and Sule Lamido, as well as the governors of Gombe and Sokoto States, Dankwambo and Aminu Tambuwal.


close button