Connect with us


Defection Drama: Six Kano Assembly Lawmakers Join PDP



More Kano Lawmakers Dump APC For PDP

Six members of the Kano State House of Assembly have defected from the ruling, All Progressive Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP).

The legislators, who are loyal to former Governor Rabi’u Kwankwaso, announced their defection in a letter they sent to the House.

Mr Kwankwaso recently defected to the PDP from the APC. He intends to seek the PDP presidential ticket.

In the letter read by the Speaker, Alhaji Kabiru Rurum, the six lawmakers said they defected to PDP “based on the premise that the party (APC) has failed to meet the aspirations and yearnings of the people we represent.”

The defectors include: Yusuf Babangida Sulaiman (Gwale), Rabiu Saleh (Gwarzo) , Zubairu Mahmud (Madobi), Yusuf Abdullahi Falgore (Rogo), Hamza Sule (Bichi) and Isiaku Ali Danja (Gezawa).

The six are not the first members the ruling party will be losing to the opposition party in the state and their defection is coming barely 24 hours after the state Deputy Governor, Hafiz Abubakarofficially defected to PDP along with 10 other aides of the state governor, Abdullahi Ganduje.

The Kano state House of Assembly has 40 members.

Source: Naija News

A Passionate Media professional who has a penchant for creative writing. he loves watching Movies, Playing Games and sightseeing.