Connect with us


Sokoto Commissioners Fired By Tambuwal



In what seems to be a move indicating his planned switch to the Peoples Democratic Party, The Governor of Sokoto State Aminu Tambuwal fired all his commissioners and asked them to hand government property to the permanent secretaries in their respective ministries.

In a statement, the Director General Media and Public Affairs in Government House, Malam Abubakar Shekara, announced the dissolution of the executive council.

The governor according to the director thanked the ex-commissioners for their dedication, sacrifice and loyalty to the administration adding that the decision was made to pave way for “restructuring and re-strategising the cabinet for optimum efficiency and service delivery to the people of State”.

Gov. Tambuwal wishes the former Executive Council members success in their future endeavours,” he added.

But political observer disclosed that the governor’s decision may be connected with his plans to dump the All Progressives Congress for the Peoples Democratic Party.

According to NAN, close watchers of the state said the governor does not enjoy the support of many commissioners, some of whom were nominated by former governor, Aliyu Wammako, who is now a senator, and who has vowed not to leave the All Progressives Congress.

List of Sokoto Commissioners

1. Ahmad Aliyu Sokoto Deputy Governor (Overseer of the Ministry of Works and Transport)

2. Umar Nagwari Tambuwal (Agriculture and Natural Resources)

3. Saidu Umar (Finance)

4. Muhammad Arzika Tureta (Water Resources)

5. Muhammad Jabbi Kilgori (Higher Education)

6. Abdullahi Maigwandu (Religious Affairs)

7. Surajo Gatawa (Science and Technology)

8. Abdulkadir Jeli Abubakar III (Home Affairs)

9. Tukur Alkali (Animal Health and Fisheries Development)

10. Mani Maishinku Katami (Rural Development)

11. Muhammad Bello Sifawa (Environment)

12. Muhammad Bello Abubakar Guiwa (Lands and Housing)

13. Sulaiman Usman SAN (Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice)

14. Isa Sadiq Achida (Information)

15. Aminu Bello Sokoto (Special Duties)

16. Bala Kokani (Budget and Economic Planning)

17. Bello Goronyo Esq (Energy)

18. Manir Muhammad Dan’Iya (Local Government and Community Development)

19. Kulu Abdullahi (Women and Children Affairs)

20. Balarabe Shehu Kakale (Health)

21. Musa Ausa Gidan Madi (Solid Minerals)

22. Aishatu Madawaki (Basic and Secondary Education)

23. Ahmed Barade Wamakko (Social Welfare)

24. Garba Yakubu Tsitse (Youth and Sports)

25. Bello Isa Ambarura (Commerce, Industries, Trade and Investment)


Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android