Connect with us


Kaduna Council Polls: PDP Disposes APC In Zangon Kataf



The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the Chairmanship and Councillorship election in Zangon Kataf Local Government Area of Kaduna State.

Mr Danjuma Baye-Luka, The Returning Officer for the election declared the results on Sunday morning in Zonkwa.

According to him, Mr Elias Maza of the PDP pulled 55,643 votes to defeat APC’s John Hassan who polled 31,514 votes.

The All Progressives Congress, however, claimed victory in Soba, Zaria, Lere, Ikara, Makarfi, Birnin Gwari, Giwa, Kagarko, Kudan, Igabi and Kajuru local councils.

The results in other councils are still being awaited.

Senator Sule Hunkuyi, who is at loggerheads with Governor Nasir El-Rufai, hails from Kudan Local Council, while Ahmad Makarfi a former PDP chairman and governor hails from Makarfi Local Council.

In Zaria, APC polled 42859 votes, while PDP got 16033. In Soba, APC got 40903, while PDP scored 13835.

Governor El-Rufai’s candidates also won handily in Senator Shehu Sani’s constituency of Kajuru LG.

The council elections were conducted using electronic voting machines, making Kaduna State the first state in the country to adopt this system of voting.

Joshua Oyenigbehin is an introvert who is passionate about Storytelling, writing and teaching. He sees his imagination as an unsearchable world, more magical than a fairyland. He has written a novel and working on another.