Connect with us


Ekiti Governorship: APC Inaugurates Screening, Appeal Committees



Ekiti Governorship, APC

Ekiti Governorship, APC

Ekiti Governorship: APC Set Up Committee For Primary

The All Progressives Congress on Tuesday, inaugurated the screening and appeal committees for aspirants contesting the May 5 primary ahead of the 2018 Ekiti State governorship election.

Osita Izunaso, the party’s National Organising Secretary, who inaugurated the committees, stated that the screenings were mandatory for all aspirants. He charged the committee members not to deviate from the APC’s tradition of adhering to due process and fairness during the exercise.

Izunaso said the committees would rely on the party’s 2014 guidelines for the nomination of candidates for public office; the party’s constitution and the 1999 Nigerian constitution (as amended) in carrying out the assignment.

The party’s National Organising Secretary revealed that 33 aspirants had picked expression of interest and nomination forms, the highest recorded by the party.

Members of the screening committee are a former governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipre Sylva (Chairman); Mr. Denton Ogbuehi (Secretary); Samaila Yusuf (member); Hajia Amina Gamawa (member); Ayo Afolabi (member); Mr. Bilyamin Shinkafi (member); and Mr. Mohammed Mustapha (member).

The appeal committee comprises Abuzarri Ribadu (Chairman); Tunde Esan (Secretary); Mr. Kayode Oseni (member); Mr. Osaro Bizugbe (member); and Edem Selong (member).

Speaking on behalf of the committee members, Sylva said, “We will do a thorough job and make sure that no misfit or anybody not qualified pass through this committee,”.

is an Associate at Naija News. He is a news media enthusiast, he holds a degree in psychology and loves exploring and sharing about the enormous power that lies in the human mind. Email: [email protected], Instagram: adeniyidman