Connect with us



Gov. Obiano Swears In New Commissioners, SAs



Obiano Lifts Curfew In Anambra, Orders Schools, Workers To Resume

The Governor of Anambra StateGov. Willie Obiano, has sworn in  19 commissioners and 11 Special Advisers to form part of his cabinet for second term on monday, days after the Anambra State House of Assembly screened and confirmed them

The commissioners are Dr Uju Nwogu, Ministry of Justice; Messrs Ifeatu Onejeme, Finance; Mark Okoye, Economic Planning and Budget and Greg Obi, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Others are Dr Joe Akabuike, Health; Messrs Obi Nwankwo, Public Utilities; Afam Mbanefo Agriculture and Prof Kate Omenugha, Basic Education.

Also sworn in are Mr. Don Adinuba, Information and Public Enlightenment, Mr Marcel Ifejiofor, Works; Nnamdi Onukwuba, Lands and Mr Mike Okonkwo, Environment.

The oath of office and allegiance was administered on the new commissioners by Mrs Chinelo Okechukwu, Solicitor General of the state at the Government House, Awka.

Obiano, who congratulated the Commissioners for being found worthy of the selection, said he was confident that the commissioners and special advisers would deliver, and warned that anyone found wanting would be relieved of his position.

He said that they would be appraised on 100 days basis adding that he would drop anyone who did not perform.

Naija News understands that former commissioners and aides who were not retained in the new administration were issued certificate of meritorious services and decorated with medals of honour for their services.

Source: Naija News

Joshua Oyenigbehin is an introvert who is passionate about Storytelling, writing and teaching. He sees his imagination as an unsearchable world, more magical than a fairyland. He has written a novel and working on another.