Connect with us


Edo LG Polls: APC Wins All Seats



The results of Edo State‘s local government council elections held on Saturday has been announced, with the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC), winning in all 18 Local Government areas.

The chairman of the Edo State Independent Electoral Commission (EDSIEC), Professor Stanley Orobator made the announcement, describing the election as a peaceful one, with no report of violence in any of the polling units across the state.

The results released showed that in Esan South-East local government council, Mr. Victor Emuanhagbon Victor of the APC won the chairmanship seat with 34, 765 votes, while ADP got 120, NCP 52 and LP 78.

Mr. Augustine Okoibkole of the APC won the elections in Esan North East with 24,127 votes. ADP got 411, DA 30 and GPN 15.

Also, Mr Eric Osayande of the APC won the chairmanship seat of Ikpoba-Okha local government council with 68,296 votes, leaving ADP got 327, LP 506, NCP 256 and SDP 214.

Mr Waziri Idemudia won the polls for Esan Central with 28,387 votes, while  Mr Patrick Aguinede of the APC and a former Commissioner of Education in the state polled a total of 34,854 to win the chairmanship seat of Esan West Local Government council.

Another APC candidate, Mr Ogedengbe Odia was also the elected chairman of Igueben LGA after polling 25, 861 votes in the polls, while Mr Sylvester Okoro  won the chairmanship position for Orihonmwon local government council. He won the elections with 47,442 votes while ADP scored 329, LP 297, NCP 107, PPA 59.

The Etsako East chairmanship seat was won by Mr Aremiyau Momoh of the APC won the chairmanship seat with 32,906 to become the elected chairman whereas, that of Etsako Cetral was won by John Akhigbe with 22,235 votes and Evbareke Osunde also swept Oredo with 53,381 votes.

The EDSIEC chairman, also stated that Oteh Omoru was elected the chairman of Akoko-Edo with 42,471 votes. ADP won only 23, SDP 17 while in Ovia South West, Destiny Enabulele for APC triumphed with 56,664 votes. ADP won 360 votes, NCP 9, PPA 5, and PDP 1.

Ovia North East elected APC’s Ogbemudia Osaze with 41,303 votes and Musa Yakubu won in Etsako West Local government councils.

Napoleon Agbama won in Uhunwode LGA with 32,292 votes, Owan East elected Andrew Osigwe, who won also polled 34,579 votes.

Eghe Ogbemudia swept Egor with 15,348 votes, the smallest votes so far reported for the party.

Frank Ilaboya easily  won the chairmanship position for Owan West LGA as he won with 28,406 votes leaving  the ADP got 252, AD 100, LP 50 and SDP 56.

Orobator added that Certificates of Return will be handed over to the winners who have been voted as Chief Executives of their various Local Government Councils at 3:00 pm on Monday.

According to him, “We will now compile results of the councilors and will brief you In about 48 or 72 hours.”