Connect with us

Nigeria News

Buhari Approves Extension Tenure of Service Chiefs



The duration of the tenure  extension Service Chiefs has not been stipulated.

Buhari extends the tenure of Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the extension of the tenure of Service Chiefs.

The Service Chiefs include the Chief of Defence Staff, the Chief of Army Staff, the Chief of Air Staff and the Chief of Naval Staff.

The Minister of Defence, Mansur Dan-Ali confirmed the approval, saying that President Buhari extended the tenures “having carefully reviewed the ongoing military operations across the country.”

However, Mansur’s statement, which did not indicate the duration of extension.

The extension implies that the CDS, Gen Abayomi Olonisakin, the army chief, Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai, the air chief, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, and the naval chief, Vice Admiral Ibok Ete-Ibas, would maintain their positions and continue in office.

According to the statement, is pursuant of the powers conferred on the President and Commander in chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria by section 218 (1) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and section 09.06 of the Harmonised Terms and Conditions for Service for officers (2012) Revised.

Ibukun Josephine Bankole was a Senior Associate at Naija News. A Mass Communication graduate, Ibukun is passionate about journalism especially in the areas of health and child related issues. She loves eating beans, singing, acting and giving motivational speeches. Ibukun is meticulous and has a positive approach to life. Contact me via twitter/Instagram @ibukunbankole_