Connect with us

Nigeria News

Police Confirm Imohimi As Lagos CP, Promote 244 Senior Officers




Insecurity: Creating State Police Will Be A Mistake – Ex-IGP Idris

-Police Commission confirms Edgal Imohimi as substantive Lagos state Commissioner of Police.

-Over 200 other senior officers were also promoted/confirmed by the Police Service Commission.



Police Service Commission promotes 244 senior officers.

Edgal Imohimi, has been confirmed as the substantive Commissioner of Police in Lagos state by the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The appointments of five other acting police commissioners serving in various states as well as the promotion of 244 other senior officers were also confirmed by the commission.


The promotions and confirmations were approved during the 24th plenary meeting of the Police Service Commission held in Abuja from December 5 to 7 which was presided over by its Chairman, Sir Mike Okiro.

The information was disclosed yesterday via a statement issued by the PSC spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, which reads in part:

“The Commission approved the promotion of CP Etop John James and CP Rasheed Olatunde Akintunde to the next rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG).


“It also confirmed the acting appointments of CP Donald Awunah – former Force Public Relations Officer and former CP Akwa Ibom State Command, now at the Police Academy Wudil, Kano; CP Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa – Cross Rivers State Command; CP Garba Umar – Anambra State Command; CP Bello Ahmed; CP Imohimi Edgal – Lagos State Command; and CP Ali Janga – Kogi State Command.”

The promotion of 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCP) to the substantive rank of Commissioner of Police, were also approved by the commission.

They are Omololu Bishi, Isaac Akimoyede, Aminu Saleh, Makama Usman, Mobolaji Fafowora, Igbodo David, Dajuma Ibahim, Okon Ene, Abang John, Aminu Kwambe, Felix Gani, Ibrahim Umar, Joseph Mukan, Wakil Mohammed, and Abdullahi Ibrahim.

The appointment of acting DCP Habu Ahmadu was also confirmed while 54 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACP) were promoted to the rank of Deputy Commissioners.

The new deputy commissioners include Fausat Azeez, Presley Dode, Adepoju Ilori (Area Commander Ughelli, Delta State Command); Oladimeji Olanrewaju (Area Commander Metro, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State Command); and Ambrose Onah of the Department of Training and Development, Force Headquarters, Abuja.

The Commission further approved the promotion of 164 Chief Superintendents of Police to the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police and eight Deputy Superintendents of Police to the rank of Superintendent.

The newly promoted and confirmed officers were charged to be be awake to their responsibilities and discharge such with due respect to the rule of law and fear of God.

Mr Musa Istifanus, secretary to the commission, has forwarded a letter to the effect to the Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris, for implementation.

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.