Connect with us


Akwa United emerge 2017 Aiteo cup champions


-Akwa United defeat Niger Tornadoes to emerge winners of the 2017 Aiteo cup tournament.

Uyo based Akwa United team, on Sunday defeated Niger Tornadoes 3-2 on penalties at the Agege stadium in Lagos to emerge the 2017 champions of the Aiteo Cup.

The team will now join Enyimba FC of Aba to represent Nigeria in the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup.

Akwa United, went home with N25m as the cash prize for winning the tournament, while Niger Tornadoes went home with N10m for their efforts.

Both teams played considerably well and had chances to win the game in regulation time but both were unable to convert their chances, with the game ending goalless in regulation time and  went straight into penalties.

READ ALSO: Why Nigerians must not allow TSTV to die

Only Hussaini and Ogbonnaya were able to convert for Tornadoes while the others lost their spot kicks. Dadzie, Olisema and Okechukwu scored from the spot to win the title for Akwa United.

At the end of the tournament, Olorunleke went home as the Best Goalkeeper as well as the Most Valuable Player of the competition while Pyagbara was the highest goalscorer.

Get New DJ Mixes

Dignitaries present at the stadium to watch the final game, include CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad; Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode; and Akwa Ibom State Governor Emmanuel Udom.

close button